Skip to content

Help Design The iFotoGuide Website – Please!

January 6, 2010

I was excited to receive the first mock-ups today for the new and improved iFotoGuide website launching later this month.  Problem is, I have a decision making disorder.  It takes half an hour for me to order a meal at the Cheesecake Factory because the menu is actually a book.  Literally.  If you’ve been there, you know what I mean.  Now I’m presented with four designs for our website and I’m paranoid I’ll choose the wrong one.  So, I’m counting on you to help us choose a design.  No pressure, though.  A website is only a company’s most important piece of marketing propaganda.  You know, the first contact most customers will have with us, where they’ll get all their information about our apps and the photographers we’re partnered with.  The website pretty much is iFotoGuide.  So yeah, no pressure.  Ugh!

Without further ado, here are the designs.  The elements are all interchangeable.  So, if you like the logo from one but the site design from another I am able to ask the designer to mix and match at will.  If you don’t like any of the logos and you have an idea for a better one, let’s hear it.  We really respect and appreciate your input.  I need to keep the project moving along so I can only accept your input until 9:00 PM on Thursday, Jan. 7.  There you have it folks.  Let ‘er rip!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2010 9:10 pm

    I would use either 3 or 4

  2. January 6, 2010 9:14 pm

    I think the 3rd is the best, with a nice fresh crisp look. While 4 is good as well, seems a little dark.

  3. January 6, 2010 9:33 pm

    Unfortunately, I don’t feel like any of them are very strong. If I had to pick one, I would probably choose number 4. I think that you should first concentrate on creating a brand for your product (iFoto Guide). Really think through the logo and identity…and then once that’s solidified, you can build a website or any other marketing materials off that. In the long run, I bet you would be happier with it that way and it would perform better with your customers.

  4. January 7, 2010 9:18 am

    I like number 4 but then I like dark colors.

  5. January 7, 2010 11:13 am

    I appreciate all the feedback! I’m partial to #3 and #4 although I’m not crazy about the logo on any of them. I think we need to keep working at it to find something that better represents the product, a digital photo guide on the iPhone.

    Matt: Thank you for your honest thoughts. Valuable advice from someone in the design industry. I’ll be emailing you shortly.

  6. David Thompson permalink
    January 7, 2010 3:34 pm

    Just repeating my facebook comment, but #4 is the stronger website and I presonally like the boot print design for the logo, well the start of one, it’s not quite there and can’t put my finger on why…

  7. David Thompson permalink
    January 7, 2010 3:37 pm

    …maybe that’s why I’m not a website designer (spelling….!)

  8. January 7, 2010 4:22 pm

    Thank you for sharing your opinion. My thoughts are in-line with yours on the site and the log. We’ll get there!

  9. January 7, 2010 11:01 pm

    4 is great for bigger photos and 3 is nice lots of text (less straining on the eyes with white)

  10. January 8, 2010 5:56 am

    I like #3 – I’m not a fan of dark/black background websites. It can be difficult for some people to view – especially if your monitor gets glare on it from a window.

  11. January 8, 2010 8:15 am

    Thanks, Steve and Blue Alpine. My one concern with the dark background is difficult to read text. I think it is easier for most people to read dark text on a light background. We won’t be showcasing a lot of images on the site. It is, for the most part, a place for people to learn about iFotoGuide, our partner photographers and read our blog posts.

    I really appreciate all the suggestions and responses. I’m sending my notes to the designer today.

  12. January 8, 2010 5:17 pm

    Sometimes it’s really that simple, isn’t it? I feel a little stupid for not thinking of this myself/earlier, though.

    • January 8, 2010 6:59 pm

      Thanks for the comment. I wish I had thought of it earlier. It would be great to already have guides to a dozen or more parks in the App Store. In time…

  13. January 9, 2010 12:15 am

    Coming in late but just in case your design process goes a couple of rounds….

    My choice is for #4. One of my biggest peeves for iPhone app websites is text with no screenshots. This is why #1 & #2 are out. I want to SEE the app, not just read about it. While template #3 offers some extra images, I’ve eliminated it due to the font choice of the title. I think designers can get too “cutesy” when designing and sometimes pick fonts that are hard to read. I feel this is one of those situations.

    Anyways, white text on a black background is high contrast and good in my book. Good luck!

    Steve

    • January 9, 2010 4:13 pm

      Thanks for the detailed response, Steve! As you can imagine I’ve visited more than a couple iPhone app websites doing research for this and I’ve not been impressed with many of them. Not enough screen shots and not enough about the app. I want to know what the app does before I spend money on it. Our goal for the iFotoGuide site is for it to be informative and interactive, not just a place for us to pitch our apps.

      Thanks again for taking the time to comment. Much appreciated!

Leave a Reply

