Skip to content

Quick Tip: Sweep The Edges, Fool!

January 21, 2010

This has been a hectic week and I haven’t been able to keep up with the blog as much as I’d like.  My son is sick, my wife is getting sick, I’m sick and we leave tomorrow for the Outdoor Retailer show in Salt Lake City.  I know, I’m whining.  What can I say?  I’m a guy and I’m sick.  It’s what we do.

Moving on to the actual tip:

When composing an image get into the habit of studying the edges of your viewfinder before pressing the shutter button.  I start in the upper left hand corner and move around the frame clockwise.  Why?  I’m looking for anything that might be intruding into the frame that isn’t supposed to be there.  Maybe it’s a branch jutting in from the corner.  Or maybe there’s a sliver of sky where there shouldn’t be one.  If you’re using a super wide angle lens you might even find the tip of your tripod leg or your foot visible in the bottom of the frame.  Unless you thoroughly enjoy cloning errant objects out of your photos this is a great way to spend a little less time staring at the computer devleoping a nasty case of carpal tunnel syndrome.

Tomorrow: Hyperfocal focusing for dummies.  Okay, not dummies but for the rest of us who need things explained very simply.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2010 5:24 pm

    I get it about whining when sick; whine away until you get better, Bret. Hope you’re better soon.

    • January 21, 2010 5:54 pm

      Thanks, Frank. I’m sure it’s just a cold and I’ll be 100% in a couple days. Hope you are well!

Leave a Reply

