Skip to content

Ask An Expert: Death and Your Intellectual Property

May 25, 2010

I received a question for the experts that I’m handling a little bit differently.  Instead of posing the question to them, I’m throwing it out to all of you.  Maybe there’s an attorney amongst my readership who can offer some solid advice?  If not, I think it would be interesting and useful to hear from a few of you how your intellectual property will be handled when you are no longer around to manage it.

The Question:

I have a question for your experts.  I think inevitably the answer will be “Consult an attorney.”  Nevertheless, there may be things we should be aware of or consider when consulting an attorney.  I was just wondering what some of these experts have done for use of their intellectual property once they die.  I believe it’s something important thing to consider.

The Answer:

Leave a comment!  If you’re an attorney who deals with intellectual property regularly, PLEASE leave a comment.  I and my readers sincerely appreciate all responses.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2010 4:11 pm

    I am not a legal expert by any means, but I believe what happens would depend on who you left your assets to in your will. Would your intellectual property be an asset you can leave to someone.

    • May 25, 2010 4:22 pm

      Great question, Geoff. I don’t know the answer. I would think you could leave rights to intellectual property to someone but that’s just my gut feeling.

  2. May 26, 2010 2:48 am

    I’d have the same thinking as Geoff, Bret. If you leave your intellectual property in your will, then that should suffice. Leave your computer, drives, CDs, DVDs, etc. and their contents specifically and it should be awarded to your chosen heir. And if you’ve registered with the patent office, then just like with a writer’s manuscript or a composer’s music, the rights should follow to your chosen heirs. Of course, I’m not an attorney and the answer may vary or be totally different by attorney, state of residence etc.
    Certainly a topic we should all consider along with all our other worldly possessions.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Ask An Expert: Death and Your Intellectual Property « Bret Edge Photography -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

